Board of Directors

  • Decrease Text Size
  • Increase Text Size

The Olympia School District Board of Directors is comprised of five citizens elected to represent the community in setting district goals and policies, adopting the budget, placing tax levies and bond issues on the ballot, hiring personnel including the Superintendent, and providing the necessary facilities for the education of our community's youth.

Members serve in staggered four-year terms. Board members must be citizens of the United States and qualified voters residing in one of the five geographic "director districts." They are elected, however, by nonpartisan popular vote from the total school district. The state does not limit the numbers of terms a director may serve. Three board members constitute a quorum for transacting business. Official action can only be taken at a regular board meeting or special board meeting for which public notice has been given. 

Regularly-scheduled school board meetings are generally held on the first and third Mondays of the month at 6:30 p.m. The meetings are held in the Board Room of the Knox Administrative Center, 1113 Legion Way S.E., or at one of our district schools. The board also holds some special meetings throughout the year. Meetings are posted on this website and included in the meeting and study session schedule below.


*Any issues using these documents? Please contact the Superintendent's Office at (360) 596-6117 for assistance.


Frank Wilson

Frank L. Wilson - President

Director, District 1
Elected 2007, Term Expires 2019
Occupation: Service Manager, OCE North America
(360) 753-6943

Joellen Wilhelm

Joellen Wilhelm - Vice President

Director, District 2
Elected 2015, Term Expires 2019
Occupation: Nonprofit Consultant
(360) 464-4315

Leslie Huff

Leslie Huff

Director, District 3
Elected 2017, Term Expires 2021
Occupation: Assessment Coordinator
(509) 432-5056
Hilary Seidel

Hilary Seidel

Director, District 4
Elected 2017, Term Expires  2019
Occupation: Program Coordinator
(360) 359-6878
Scott Clifthorne

Scott Clifthorne

Director, District 5
Elected 2017, Term Expires 2021
(360) 818-4496

Grant EricksonGrant Erickson Headshot

Student Representative
Appointed June 2018, Term Expires May 2019
Occupation: Student, Capital High School
(360) 596-6117

Anna McClatcheyAnna McClatchey

Student Representative
Appointed June 2018, Term Expires May 2019
Occupation: Student, Olympia Regional Learning Academy (ORLA)
(360) 596-6117
Patrick Murphy headshot

Patrick Murphy

Olympia School District
(360) 596-6117

Mailing Address for Board Members: Olympia School District, 1113 Legion Way SE, Olympia, WA 98501