Students share music and art

  • Decrease Text Size
  • Increase Text Size
Students share music and art
Board members and students hold framed student artEvery January time is set aside at one of the Olympia School Board meetings to honor directors for their service as part of School Board Recognition Month.

There is usually a surprise or two during these special recognitions, and this year was no exception.

As board members and other staff and community members arrived at Hansen Elementary School for the meeting, they were greeted with music performed by orchestra students Nicholas Evans, Sophia Sarber, Bella Lang, Jack Beers-Bracey and Rigo Tecpile Itehua. Students performed under the direction of orchestra teacher Mary Jo Rydholm.

Just before the meeting opened, second/third-grade teacher Darci McMaster’s students performed a song both by singing and using sign language. Principal William “Billy” Harris accompanied the students on acoustic guitar, choir and music teacher Amy Barene played bass guitar and kindergarten teacher Austen Anderson played the electric drum. Harris also presented the board with an oversized poster, signed by first graders, that contained the message: “School Board You Rock. Thanks For All Your Hard Work!”

During the meeting, Superintendent Patrick Murphy read Gov. Jay Inslee’s School Board Recognition Month proclamation, presented a Washington State School Directors Association certificate of recognition to each board member and asked each board member to open a special wrapped gift placed in front of them at the board table.

Much to their delight, each of the directors received original student artwork created as part of a new Elementary Art Pilot program this year at Hansen, LP Brown, and Garfield elementary schools. Several of the student artists attended the meeting to watch as the directors opened their framed artwork. The students talked and posed for photos with board members during a meeting recess.

Thank you Olympia School Board President Hilary Seidel, Vice President Scott Clifthorne, directors Leslie Huff, Maria Flores and Justin McKaughan, and Student Representatives Ruby Gruber and Alexis Nevy for your service to the Olympia School District.