Who Takes Which Tests?

  • Decrease Text Size
  • Increase Text Size

Who takes which tests, when and why?


What tests are required for graduation:


Graduating classes of 2019 and 2020

  • Smarter Balanced ELA or WA-AIM**
  • Smarter Balanced Math or WA-AIM


 Graduating Class of 2021

  • Smarter Balanced ELA or WA-AIM
  • Smarter Balanced Math or WA-AIM
  • WCAS (science) or WA-AIM


What Score do I need on the Smarter Balanced to meet the state graduation requirement:

  • Smarter Balanced ELA score of Level 3 or Level 4 (or Exit Exam cut score of 2548-2582)
  • Smarter Balanced Math score of Level 3 or Level 4 (or Exit Exam cut score of 2595-2627)

Smarter Balanced High School Score Ranges

If I passed the Smarter Balanced ELA or Math on the “exit exam cut score,” and met my graduation requirement, why should I take the Smarter Balanced again in Grade 11?

  • You may want to try to pass the Smarter Balanced tests at Level 3 or 4 in order to show colleges that you are ready for credit-bearing courses. High school students who take the Smarter Balanced exam in California, Delaware, Hawaii, Oregon, South Dakota, and Washington could enter postsecondary institutions and directly enroll in credit-bearing courses. Colleges and universities in these six states will use the high school score as evidence that students are ready for entry-level, credit-bearing courses and may be exempted from remedial courses. Using Smarter Balanced scores is an option for students and scores are not required, but accepted.


**WA-AIM is an alternate assessment for students with significant cognitive challenges.