Board of Directors

  • Decrease Text Size
  • Increase Text Size

The Olympia School District Board of Directors is comprised of five citizens elected to represent the community in setting district goals and policies, adopting the budget, placing tax levies and bond issues on the ballot, hiring personnel including the Superintendent, and providing the necessary facilities for the education of our community's youth.

Members serve in staggered four-year terms. Board members must be citizens of the United States and qualified voters residing in one of the five geographic "director districts." They are elected, however, by nonpartisan popular vote from the total school district. The state does not limit the numbers of terms a director may serve. Three board members constitute a quorum for transacting business. Official action can only be taken at a regular board meeting or special board meeting for which public notice has been given. 

Regularly-scheduled school board meetings are generally held on the first and third Mondays of the month at 6:30 p.m. The meetings are held in the Board Room of the Knox Administrative Center, 1113 Legion Way S.E., or at one of our district schools. The board also holds some special meetings throughout the year. Meetings are posted on this website and included in the meeting and study session schedule below.



Eileen M. Thomson - PresidentEileen Thomson headshot
Director, District 3

Elected 2008, Term Expires 2017
Occupation: Boutique Sales
(360) 352-0474



Frank L. Wilson - Vice President
Frank Wilson headshot
Director, District 1

Elected 2007, Term Expires 2019
Occupation: Service Manager, OCE North America
(360) 753-6943


Joellen WilhelmJoellen Wilhelm headshot

Director, District 2
Elected 2015, Term Expires 2019
Occupation: Nonprofit Consultant
(360) 464-4315


Justin L. MonterminiJustin Montermini headshot

Director, District 4
Elected 2011, Term Expires 2017 
Occupation: Government Relations
(360) 402-8537


Mark A. CampeauMark Campeau

Director, District 5
Elected 2008, Term Expires 2017
Occupation: Real-time Energy Trader
(360) 866-6300


Ainsley AustinAinsley Austin headshots

Student Representative
Appointed June 2017, Term Expires May 2018
Occupation: Student, Avanti High School
(360) 596-6117


Patrick MurphyPatrick Murphy headshot

Olympia School District
(360) 596-6117


Mailing Address for Board Members:
 Olympia School District, 1113 Legion Way SE, Olympia, WA 98501